A questin about reed gapping...

Hi guys,

I’m a novice player and am working on getting my single note playing down at the moment. I feel I have been making steady enough progress and my accuracy over the first 4 holes is definitely improving.

However, I often have trouble getting the hole 1 blow note to sound (the draw seems to sound much easier). I have tried attacking the blow with a “k” at the start which seems to help, but does not entirely sort the problem. It seems to take a while to get the reed to vibrate and the note to sound at which point it becomes easy to maintain/manipulate.

I haven’t had this problem on any other hole (bearing in mind that I haven’t really moved past number 4 yet) and was wondering if it is possible that I need to take the cover plate off and increase the gap between the reed and the plate?

Of course it could just be poor technique on my part.

Thanks in advance,
Lee.

Yeppers!

I went back through your other posts, didn’t see any mention of what harmonica(s) you have. But sounds like you’re going to have to do something about that 1 hole, if not others.

So here’s a good start with Jimmy to learn about gapping:

Jim’s DIY Harp Workshop 1 - Gapping

Good luck!

Keep us posted!

Keep on harpin’!

Many thanks SPD! Much appreciated.

I thought as much but figured I’d better check here first, just in case.

For the record it’s a Suzuki Bluesmaster that I’m using.

Goes in search of tiny screw driver

Hehehehe!

I just answered Ace’s questions here:

http://www.harmonica.com/forums/harmonica-maintenance-repair-and-customization/tools/msg2849/#new

As I know nothing of Suzikis - Seems for 10-hole diatonics, a harp is a harp at least when you take its clothes (covers) off…But puhleeze don’t quote me on that! mwuahahahaha!

Good luck!

Keep us posted!

Keep on harpin’!

Be very careful!! You can…I have messed up one real bad. probly will have to send to a professional. Drats.

Howdy Ty-Man!

Be very careful!!

I agree with you 1000%