Accuracy is the problem

I am a beginner, but I can play clear, single notes with no problem and can even bend notes reasonably well. My biggest problem is hitting the notes accurately when playing a melody. It can get very frustrating. Any suggestions?

John

For now John, all I can offer is what Howard Levy suggests: Take the tune slow note by note until it’s fully memorized; and then gradually increase your speed.

I know, I know, I’m the impatient type too there!

Will have some more to add later, but this is the place to begin.

Good luck!

Keep on harpin’!

John,

I totally agree with SPD, totally slow that tune down till you can play it accurately and memorize the tab if your reading tab.
Then increase speed a little at a time. Even if you have to take the tune apart and learn it line by line that’s ok.

Just slow it down. Hopefully you have software that’ll do that for you. Are you playing along with a backing track or just playing the
tune by itself. If by itself put it to a metronome and start it at a slow reasonable speed that you can play it with.

Work it up to speed slowly day by day.

Make small improvements every day then you’ll have it learned and memorized in no time.

If your learning a tune with a backing track like a midi file. You can play the midi file in a software like Van Bosco midi player

here’s the link

http://www.vanbasco.com/

It should be a free download.

Then you can easily speed up or slow down the tune and you can also change the key to it. And there’s also I believe a
link in there so you can search for midi files.

Let me know if you need help that has helped me alot.

Harp on!!

I read there is no such thing as cheating when trying to learn an instrument and I take that to heart, so here is my (cheat)!