Hi, I’m Sarah
Is 64 too old for someone to start to play the harmonica? I love the music;my dad used to play “Kneel at the Cross” when I was a little girl and we would sing to it and have such a good time. He passed away at 52 so I guess that harmonica playing went deeper than I realized until the last few months. I ran across J.P’s lessons, the freebies, and fell in love with the harmonica; even splurged for the Special 20. If there are any pointers for playing smoothly or anything you can advise me as a newbie, please let me know. Sarah

Hi Sarah

I think you will find that some of these enthusiasts are much older than you might imagine. Some ole pros on this forum, but for the most part we are all learning to play. Most everyone here is from the over the hill gang (50+). If you like playing and learning the harmonica, you are never too old. Just have fun with it and enjoy.

Welcome to the forum

Flip

Hey Sarah, I just started playing the harmonica a little over one year ago and I’m 72. Remember that today is the first day of the rest of your life and enjoy every moment.

Barry

Hi Sarah,

Defintely not too old! Definitely not! As far as playing smoothly if your a beginner I think one of your first challenges may be to blow clean single notes.

Keep practicing till you can get that challenge done. Start off right in the middle of the harmonica 4B 4D 5B 5D 6B 6D 7D 7B careful with the 7D and 7B I highlighted because the pattern switches… Once you can do that, the amount of tunes that you will be able to play will be incredible and a lot of fun.

I would say work on that first JP’s got a bunch of free youtube videos on how to so take advantage of them. Here is a start.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C3ARrzjk570&feature=channel
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C3ARrzjk570&feature=channel

Harp on!!

Wow! You have my favorite lady name of all time! :-*

I always say: If and when I ever get married, I’m going to name my wife Sarah!! :smiley: