Brand new to the Harp!

Hello everyone. I am very new to the Harp. I have messed around with the little “Made in China” Hohner harmonicas and am looking to advance my Harmonica playing and maybe one day play some gigs. I like what I see with the JP Allen’s Lessons. One of my questions with that is; how are the lessons later for more advanced after we get done with the basics?

I also was looking at Adam Gussow’s beginner harmonica lessons. I love his teaching method. Anyone have any experience with his beginner lessons? I am debating which one to start out with. Wonder if I should start with JP then use Gussow’s lessons. I could do both, but want to focus on 1 right now. Also, funding this is another reason.

Anyways, thanks for reading and I am looking forward to start Harping with the rest of you. Gonna buy my Hohner Special 20 tonight.

Thanks everyone!!

Birddog!

Hi birdog,

For me I started out with a little David Harp harmonica book very very basic came with a free harp. Found it at borders on the discount rack for like 8 bucks.

From there bought JP’s bundle, Click here http://www.harmonica.com/vwo/1-dt.html

And that advanced me enough to go on to harmonicaacademy.com.

So I highly recommend JP’s course that will definitely get you going in the right
direction. Take your time with it and you’ll soon be playing tunes and blues.

harp on!!

The Special 20 is a pretty good harp. I’d say it and the Lee Oskar and Suzuki HarpMaster are all pretty good harps.
Only “problem” I have with Adam’s stuff is his use of the Bb harp. Most harp lessons on in C but he said he went with Bb to cull out the “newbies” from the lessons since they’d not have that key lying around.
Personally, I love my A Major, Harmonic Am, Natural Dm and my Chromatic harps better then the C or Bb harps so go figure,LOL.