Breathing In/Breathing Exercises

I have no problem with the blow notes and breath going out, but I often come across shortness of breath when breathing in. Is this simply a matter of perfecting diaphragm breathing?

In a word: Yes!

First up, I’m a smoker…a big smoker!

Yet after my accident in the truck rollover, I could hardly breathe because of my injuries. My chest and ribs hurt like hell. It hurt to talk. But I started playing harmonica and chugging just to keep me alive!

My body eventually healed as much as it will. But I always walk while practicing my rapid inhales; I ride my bike while practicing my rapid inhales. I lie in bed and practice strengthing my diaphragm just as JP suggests in his lessons.

Bottom line: I’m better and stronger for it! And I know you will be soon enough as well!

Stay with it. Don’t over think it too much now. Keep us posted.

Keep on harpin’!

I would just say this while drawing a note make sure the hole your drawing is open and that you have a good seal around on both
other sides otherwise you may be losing alot of air leaking out around the hole.

I don’t know if I explained that really well but I think thats what happens to me. Got to have a good seal on the harp.

Harp on!!

Hi guys,

I’m new here, I’ve just registered. Hope I can learn a lot from you guys.