Can I play this?

Hi everyone I’m pretty new with the harp and I don’t really know a lot about all the technical things yet, but I have been having fun. I came across a piece of music recently. I thought it was beautiful and at first I believed it was a harmonica but now I believe it’s actually a clarinet? Anyways if someone could check it out and tell me if the song could be played with the harmonica and what key I would need I would be beyond grateful.

The song starts at 33:53 (Sorry I haven’t found the song anywhere else but in that long video) but the part in question is the main part? Idk if it’s the Melody? Sorry idk if Im using the terms right. But any help would be appreciated

Hi, Gnmtl – and welcome to the forum!

I am fairly certain that the theme played (starting at 33:53) is being played on a chromatic harmonica. As to the key that it is being played in: I really did not analyze it very much, but the chromatic harp can play tunes in any key (similar to the way a piano or clarinet, etc can do this – assuming, of course, that the musician has some degree of mastery over the instrument :wink:).

Using a diatonic harp is somewhat more difficult and frequently will require skills such as bending and overblowing to achieve some of the notes that are not “built in” to the diatonic harp. And for musical pieces that have complex themes that change the key during playing or have complex chord changes that the theme needs to follow, it might even be necessary to use two diatonic harps tuned to different keys, and then to switch from one to the other at the appropriate moment! :astonished:

Gruß (greetings)
– Slim

Hey thank you for looking at it for me. I thought it was a harmonica but I double guess I second guessed myself. It’s cool to hear a harmonica in that type of music.

How different to play is the chromatic harmonica? I know they’re more expensive…