Chromatic harmonica - do you have to bend notes?

I’m a beginner to the diatonic harmonica.
I’d like to learn to play the chromatic harmonica so that I can play in any key and don’t need to eventually buy a whole lot of diatonic harmonicas in different keys.
But I’m wondering if you still have to learn to bend notes on the chromatic? Or because the chromatic has all 12 keys then bending isn’t necessary?
If anyone has any other tips/info about playing the chromatic compared to the diatonic I’d appreciate any help before buying one. Is there a brand/model that is easier to play for a beginner?