Delicia Radio

Hi,

I inherited some harmonicas from my grandfather when he passed. One was a Roy Rogers riders and the other is a 1989 Delicia Radio 12 hole double reed key C. I am new to the instrument and was trying I find information on the Delicia. If anyone can point me in the right direction, I would greatly appreciate it. Also, I was wondering which of the two would be best to start on. Thanks!

Hi guys, and a big howdy to the new folkses.
I’ve been pretty busy lately. I’m sorry for being away and not helping
welcome the newcomers.
NOWWWWW for the question of which harmonica to start.
Don’t start with a tremolo or octave or any instrument other than
a Richter tuned (I’ll get bashed for that) GOOD diatonic harmonica
in the key of C. You’ll find more lessons use this type instrument
than any other for beginners.
The Roy Rogers harmonica should be sent directly to me. PM me for
my address. Just joking of course, though I’d love to have a toy harp
with Roy’s branding on it. I’m a BIG Roy fan. Dale and my wife carried on
quite a bit of correspondence a while back. She was a wonderful lady.
I’d love to have known both of them personally…what a kick!
Anyway…I’m sure glad you are getting involved. I don’t know if the
Roy harp is well suited for serious playing, but you may want to wait
until you get some good technique learned and set to habit before
using it much. Poor technique can ruin harps, especially weak ones.
Take good care of it, and post some pictures of it. I know it’s a novelty
harmonica, but it’s got to be so cool. More Roy memorabilia.

thebugleboy

Hello, Ichibanviper.

Your Radio Delicia (Delicia Radio) was made by the Ligna harmonica company of Czechoslovakia, production dates unknown, but you’ve written that it’s a 1989 vintage. It has metal covers that wrap around the edges of the harmonica.