East Top T008K

I purchased a Hohner Golden Melody Progressive harmonica after some research on harmonicas and since I’m new to playing, wanted to get a good quality harp since I can use all the help I can get. I was just given an East Top T008K so looked up research on them but not alot out there. Assuming it might be a fairly new model maybe? Don’t know but I tried it out and it appears to work pretty good, to me anyway. Just wondering ? ? ? I did find out East End are made in China so the price is about 1/2 that of the Golden Melody. One of the things I love about the Golden Melody is the shape, even tho that has nothing to do with playing ability. The East Top seems easier to draw/blow on the #1 note tho. Thanks for any input on this harp . . . Butch

4 Likes

Hallo @Butch,
ich musste mit deiner Bezeichnung der Harp kurz recherchieren.
Seit 2 Wochen habe ich auch die Hohner Golden Melody C (Europa :de:). Der Preis war ausgezeichnet und ich bin mit dem Produkt sehr zufrieden.
Sie lässt sich sehr leicht spielen, auch die unteren und hohen Töne. Die Verarbeitung ist top.
Viel Spaß mit der neuen Harp.
Viele Grüße von Astrid

2 Likes

Hi Butch @Butch,

The Golden Melody is, as Astrid @AstridHandbikebee63 says, an easy to play harp – at least it should be. All of the ones I have owned were excellent and easy to play. So if you are having some problems on the hole #1 draw & blow then I suggest removing the covers and checking the reed gaps to make sure that they are not too large or too small. To see the blow reed gap accurately you will need to remove the reed plate as well because the blow reeds are on the inside of the comb.

Ideally the gap at the free end of the reed (between the slot’s end and the end of the reed) should be very nearly the same as the thickness of the free end of the reed.