Easttop T008k remarks

…it arrived today after just 14 days . Amazing how they can sell and ship it to the US for $19.79. It was packaged nicely and quite presentable , and it really plays fine for what it cost.
As a novice I did my due diligence on harmonicas and I did note that most of the reviews on Youtube are basically positive and the many good players reviewing it pretty much describe this harp in detail so all Im going to do is offer my own thoughts and opinion on it. Im somewhat a beginner at 78 yrs and not with good wind as in my younger days but enough to play the harp with . Currently have a Hohner Big River , key of C in the car and 4 Hohner Special 20s (other keys) at home . I wanted one in the Bb key and ordered the Easttop (out of curiosity) and in part to my being frugal. OK, I find the Easttop uses less air and is easier to play and bend notes than the Big River , as expected since the Big River cant be the best beginner harp either. I do think the Big River sounds richer though and is definitely louder.
However, when compared with any of my Special 20s I have to ask myself why I just didnt spring for the additional $18 and stick with what has been proven to play better.
Not that the Easttop was bad ,or out of tune , but it bothers me why anyone would recommend any of the cheap beginner harps for someone starting out . Its rather important that a beginner should be learning on a better quality harp that is easiest to play, uses less air , and sounds excellent. The cost of a Special 20 at approx $38 US certainly cannot be considered a financial roadblock to anyone wanting to learn the harmonica. My curiosity is no more, as I intend to stick with the Special 20s.

1 Like