Frustration???

Hey everyone,I have found J.P Allens Website more than helpful so a huge thanks to him, but alas I find myself getting frustrated frequently as I seem to have gotten to a certain stage and find it hard to move past it, I can now play along to about 5 songs and sound pretty good but cannot seem to advance,I practice most days but cannot seem to re-create the sounds that I hear, particlarly in the blues riffs, I do however love playing the harp but want to improve from where I am, any suggestions or links to help me would be much appreciated, cheers everyone :wink:
P.S I started playing the harp because my late Grandfather played it and I want to carry on his legacy. R.I.P Grandad, I love you and miss you.
Oh and I play a Hohner 10 hole blues harp in a ‘C’ key which my Grandmother brought for me.

Howdy Spooky! Oooh! :o Hehe!

Sure, look around the posts from others and see where they’re at too!

This will help get you started:

http://www.harmonica.com/forums/harmonica-talk/stayn-interested/

But rather than generalities, what specifically do you need help with?

Am sure we can all pitch in to help you!

Smiles!

PS: Nice story about your Grandparents too there! :slight_smile:

Hey Street player dude, thanks for that man, I think some of my trouble lies in my breathing techniques but I cant seem to carry a riff through and then get that cool bluesey sound, I can bend O.K but carrying the sound through from hole to hole with the chugging sound is a challenge for me too, I hope ya’ll can make sense from what I am saying, is hard to explain without showing you what I mean as I am sure you can appreciate,
any tips would be helpful though and i will relay my progress through this awesome site :wink:
Cheers Dudes.

Spooky how long have you been playing 1 year or less i think to be able to play along with 5 songs isn’t so bad…Your obviously getting single clear notes ok. Work on vibrato that adds
alot to your playing I think. I love that sound.