Getting It Back

Hello fellow harmonica players.

I started playing when I was 16 and a friend of mine played me the first Paul Butterfield Blues Band record. Suddenly I started hearing harmonica solos in my head. A friend of mine had an old harmonica so I used that. Picked it up in no time.

This was in the late 60s, and I stocked up on Chess reissues. “Hate To See You Go” became my Bible; I made it a point to learn every solo and lick on that record, and Little Walter remains my favorite blues harp player. He simply had it all, he was a genius.

Before too long I was playing in blues bands, then I moved to the big city, learned to play the chromatic harmonica, learned music theory and sight reading, and eventually got into studio work, playing on TV and radio commercial jingles. Obviously this was before MIDI came along and put us all out of work.

I was a really good player, scary good. I owned the harmonica. I’d even studied the chromatic harmonica at a conservatory in New York city. The inventor of the Hohner CBH 2016 chromatic harmonica, Cham Ber Huang, was the head of the harmonica department, and my teacher was Robert Bonfiglio. Here he is playing Debussy:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vyz0j3tbqUw#
World’s Greatest Harmonica Player-BONFIGLIO-Boston Pops-John Williams-Debussy Reverie

(He didn’t know anything about playing blues on a diatonic harp.)

About three years ago, I became very ill. I was sick, with a number of ailments that kicked my ass; chronic fatigue, itching and rashes, pains all over my body, really bad headaches; and a lifetime of smoking didn’t help. First it was pneumonia, then bronchitis, then finally it was COPD. I still have it, but it’s hardly noticeable. I’m lucky.