Greetings from Portugal

Hi,
I’m new at this forum (and I’m not a usual forum’s client) and there is a short presentation…
I started very lately to play, few month ago, when I did 35 years. It is the first instrument a learnt to play, so I’m a very beginner, but I’ve got lot of will to play better, and learning music theory as well…

I’ve got some nice diatonics (lots of Suzuki -manji c-pure harp g-firebreath c- hammond f, a hohner marine band Bb and a lee oskar Ab harmonic minor) and recently (days) started on the chromatic (swan 1664 - waiting for a chromatix scx 64), as I was not 100% happy with my bendings’pitches (but still working on them…)

see you

Welcome to the group! That is quite a collection of nice harps for a newby. Be patient with yourself and have FUN with the harp.
Also realize there is as much difference in the Diatonic and the Chromatic harp as there is between a flute and a piccolo. They are two totally different instruments.

Hi paulbunyn,

yes those are great harps. When I said few month, it’s almost a year and a half, so, I get some great presents from family for christmas and birthdays, etc…
But it is really addictiv! Sure I wouldn’t do it if I was a pianist!

Yes Diatonic and Chromatic are really very different. But i feel that even so, the progress we do with one reflects on the other in some manner…
I love the bendings possibilities of the diatonic (not a good overblower yet, still working on it - and even worst with overdrawing!!) and the portability (to play in the car it is perfect!). As for chromatic I love having all notes availlable with the exact pitch, and get 4 octaves to play.
I really cannot say I prefer one or the other!
I’m just trying to play both better every day, having fun doing it!