Greetings!

Well, Hey!

I’m from Pennsylvania, I just received the physical version of the 2012 lessons (JP, of course) a week or so ago, and I’m an absolute beginner.

I try and practice daily at work (during lunch). I tried to practice at home, but I live in a small apartment - And the neighbors politely asked if I would play songs my dog doesn’t know…I can’t seem to find any! :wink:

Anyway, I view the Harmonica the same way I view golf. I 'm terrible at it, I’m having a good time anyway, and I can’t HELP but improve, at this point!

So…Hello!

Hal

Howdy Hal, and welcome!
What harmonica are you starting with, the BluesBand?
Try to practice before you eat at lunch…bad for the harp
and will eventually cause growing things inside it (yuck).
You’re going to get GAS soon if you keep up the practice.
That’s Gear Acquisition Syndrome. Whatever you start
with will multiply like rabbits and the quality of your arsenal
will steadily improve. The dogs will probably always sing with
you (they know what they like), but your neighbors will begin
to become your fans as they hear you improve.
Just keep working it and having FUN!

thebugleboy

Well, actually, I don’t practice after lunch. I practice instead of lunch! Maybe I’ll invent the “Harmonica Diet Plan”!

A little more about me: …I have toyed with the harmonica, on and off, since around 1982. My sister gave me a gift - a copy of John Gindick’s book (“Country and Blues Harmonica for the Musically Hopeless”), and a Hohner Pocket Pal. I still have the Pocket Pal. No idea what ever happened to the book or the tape. I learned ONE 4 note riff, and played it endlessly. It seemed as though, if I kept to the background, didn’t overdo things, and wailed on it a little - no one realized I had a “one riff repertoire”. Or at least, no one seemed to mind. And I stayed there, for almost 31 years. In a very limited way, the concept of “Cross Harp” blues and country backup kind of stayed with me. And just recently re-surfaced.