Hello everybody!

Hello!

I’m a relative beginner to the harmonica, six months maybe. I got my start with a teach-yourself book that came with a pair of cheap 10-hole diatonics, one in C and one in A. They are a bit uncomfortable in the mouth, and I found it hard to get the 1/2/3 draw notes to sound at all, and eventually moved up to a Seydel Blues Favorite ©.

I bought a better book, too, and I’m now collecting music to play.

– Steve

Hi Steve,

I just joined. How are your lessons progressing? Enjoying your harmonica?

Gayle

Hi Gayle,

Welcome! There’s some good news, and some bad news. The bad news is that I broke a reed in my Seydel Favorite. :frowning: I used too much force on the poor 10th hole while trying to get it to bend like the others, and it now plays F on the draw instead of A. Bah.

On the up side, I bought a Seydel Deluxe chromatic, and I’ve been working on that instead of the diatonics. I’m finding it to be much easier to play, and there’s the bonus of not needing to bend it in order to get it to play whatever notes it can produce. I’ve also concluded that the soundtrack for Once Upon A Time In The West was not played with a diatonic, even though the character in the film is shown using one. There’s a particular effect I get with the slide halfway in (so the normal and shifted reeds are both playing) that sounds like the harmonica playing in the film.

So despite the mortal wound delivered to my Favorite’s 10th hole reed, I’m happy, yes. ;D

Howdy and welcome to both of you!
Steve, are you certain you cracked or broke the reed?
Does it sound odd in some way? It could be repairable.
The reed or reed plate can be replaced too.
Here is a good example of not needing force to play a harmonica.
Just breath in and out through it…especially your chromatic.
Why not come on over to slidemeister.org and visit there too.
It’s for chromatics, though there are areas set aside for diatonic discussion.