Hello friends - I'm from Canada

My name is Pam. I started searching for Harmonica instructors in 2014 and settled with JP as I thought his free lessons seemed doable to me. I’m glad I did, but wanted to explore other harmonica players as well to compare their techniques. Well, my brain became overwhelmed with information. To make this short, I got stuck and feel I should be farther along than I am. I consider myself to be not much more than the beginner level after 5 years (and am feeling a little embarrassed about that).
I’m really happy to see this forum running again.
Looking forward to moving forward!

1 Like

Hey Pam - nice to meet you. There’s no reason to feel embarrassed - it’s not a race! The whole point is to relax and have fun!

I’ve been practicing Tai Chi for 6 years. The form I’m learning is 108 movements. Many people learn the whole thing in 1 year, but it took me 6. Who cares? The cool thing for me is, I stuck with it, and now I can actually do the whole form, which as been a goal of mine for 6 years!

What is your goal with the harmonica?

Aloha,
Luke

Hi Luke! It’s weird that you mention Tai Chi in this post. I just started Tai Chi 2 weeks ago.
We actually met a few years ago, as I was learning from your video lessons.
As far as my goal with the harmonica - I just want to better myself in finding my way around the harmonica and try to play by ear with ease and confidence.

1 Like

Greetings Canada, and everyone else I am also from Canada. I’ve been playing the guitar for many years but only took up the harp about 6 months ago. I watched JP’s introductory lessons and have a couple of courses going on Udemy. I’ve taken a break from the courses recently to practice single note playing. I took it up because a friend plays but also a fellow jammer plays and he is so good I thought I must give that a try. Anyway, it’s going OK. I do have some problems for which I’ll find another thread to about.