Hohner marine band harmonica.

I received a new harmonica for Christmas. I requested a special 20 but a marine band 1896 was purchased for me, it’s a Bb. My question is, is a marine band a decent harmonica for a beginner or should I trade it in for a special 20. I know it has to do with each individual but was wondering if it is a decent harmonica to learn on. I’ve been playing for 8 months or so.

Its what I was broken in on, and its still the harp I swear by!

But thats me!

–BT

Do you need to do any special tuning? Do I need to seal the comb? I have not opened the package and still can exchange it for a 20 if I like. But I can not exchange it for a few weeks, and it is killing me having a new harp and not playing it.

I can’t speak for everyone, but for me any harmonica with protruding reed plates and wooden combs I find very uncomfortable. I tried a Hohner Blues Harp and it makes rough spots on my lips. Maybe if I didn’t try the SP20 first I would have just calloused up and gotten used to it, or maybe I was doing something wrong, but for me the plastic comb with recessed reed plates is the way to go.

P.S. If anyone is interested in a barely played bluesharp in the key of G let me know.

I agree with gregmatic 100%. I hate the protruding plates and when the comb teeth swell they grate my tongue. BUT… Adam Gussow swears by Marine Band harps and a lot of people like the tone of a wood comb better. I personally can’t tell the difference.

Opinions are like noses…everybody has one!

I don’t seal the harp. gasp too much work!

So, I played it and played it until it swelled so much I felt like I was playing a chainsaw. Then, I took it apart, got some sandpaper, and went to work! Its like guerrilla gunsmithing…only with a harmonica. Professional? Not at all. Does it work for me? Before I started this new job, I played it for a few hours everyday.