How to play blues with improvisation??

Hello, I am a beginner and am aching to play some blues but I don’t know where to begin? I’m very anxious to play blues like Howlin Wolf, Robert Johnson and Muddy Waters. I believe I can bend pretty well for a beginner.

Are there any tricks, tips, videos, scales or anything that you would think be helpful to someone trying to start and gradually become an ideal blues harmonica player?

Thank you for your help! much appreciated

Hi Shamanblues

I wrote this for another member of this forum, so it appears on another page somewhere this version is slightly different in content but not much.
If you are serious about playing the blues you must get this under your belt until it is second nature, it may sound complicated but unless you know it you will not advance in your blues playing, this is the method taught by all the pros, I would urge you to study it, but don’t take my word for it, get out on utube and learn,it’s all there for you.

Regards.

Bluesman.

What follows describes the 1st and 2nd position on a Diatonic ten hole Harmonica, there are 12 positions in total, most of which you will never use but that are nevertheless available on the humble Blues Harp.

So, you have your brand new harp which for arguments sake is in the key of C.

1st Position

Start at the 4th hole. 4 Blow, 4 Draw, 5 Blow, 5 Draw, 6 Blow, 6 Draw, 7 Draw, 8 Blow. (Draw means suck)

You have just played the scale of C Major in 1st position

(Doesn’t really matter what key your harp is in, if it is a ten hole diatonic that sequence of blows and draws will play a Major scale in whatever key is marked on the harp)

You can play hundreds of melodies using that scale, I play ‘Oh Susanna’, ‘Shenandoah’, ‘The Streets of Laredo’, ‘Scarborough Fair’, ‘Jesu Joy Of Man’s Desiring’, ‘Amazing Grace’, and whatever comes into my head but I never play ‘The Blues’ in that position.

2nd Position or ‘Crossharp’