Howdy from the California High Desert

Hello to all. I’m Jim, some people still call me “Doc”, mostly my Marines who I served with as a Navy Hospital Corpsman. I’m new to playing the Harmonica, today I picked up a Lee Oskar Major Diatonic in C. My first Harmonica ;D
I’m mostly learning from YouTube instructional vids, along with some tips from my musician friends.
Thanks for having me.

BTW, I was the only Jim in my family (I’m the Third/III) who doesn’t know how to play not only any instruments but after two generations of Harmonica players, both my father & grandfather, I don’t play. I lent my dad my new Lee Oskar this evening and he said “Name a tune” and I thought I’d challenge him & said “When the Saints Come Marching In” and after around 15secs of playing around he then busted it out perfect with plenty of flavor. After I got done laughing he handed it back to me and said “Good sound, nice harp there.” So I have some well worn but big shoes to fill :slight_smile:

Well a HUGE SEMPER FI Doc!! My father retired from the Corps, tho personally, I think that’s just on paper cuz once a Marine ALWAYS a Marine!! He was a SSGT doing 2 tours in 'Nam.