L.O. Am Harmonic Minor vs Hohner Educator 10 Chromatic.

I’m trying to get back into playing so I’d like to get away from the standard “boring” major tuned diatonic harps that I’ve messed with in the past. I’m far from an expert harp player, more of a hack to tell ya’ll the truth but it’s something that I did have fun doing for the few months that I played.
Not sure if I should get into an inexpensive Chromatic and give it a try of just go with a Harmonic Minor tuned Lee Oskar(Am, of course) to get my interests going again.
Anyone who plays both feel free to chime in with info on playing each and what you think about both styles of harp. Thanks.

I have recently started playing chromatic harmonicas. I got a Hohner Super Chromonica 270.

I tell you what, it has been the best thing for me! Like a breath of fresh air. You can do so many different things with it…its awesome!

And then, you appreciate the diatonic for what it is! IMHO, playing both is best. Within weeks of playing both, you appreciate the instrument like never before!

Just my two cents! Take it or leave it!

Peace Out!

–BT

I didn’t think Chromatic and Inexpensive could go in the same sentence together.
My 1st harp was a Chromatic 270, It was a gift and too complicated for me as a raw beginner. I am still learning Diatonic and still can’t play the Chromatic. I want to play it someday but don’t want to overload myself learning both at the same time.
JP has info on Gypsy Harmonica you should look into.
Best of luck finding that right harp!!!

I’ve notice aside from the Hohner Educator 10 that Swan has a 1040 for about $20 bucks and Hurricane Harps has a 1248 with book,CD and everything for $38 so there are some inexpensive harps available for those of us who’d like to get our feet wet without breaking the bank.