Never Too Old!

I purchased JP’s lessons a week ago, and I am having a blast! I took a few days off work this week, and I am up to lesson 50. Finally playing single notes more consistently and managing to play a few songs … okay, the songs are a little rough!! I was born in London and grew up in Liverpool. I have been playing guitar for about twenty years, and play with a bass player, drummer and share vocals with a singer just for kicks. I emigrated to the US in 1976 when I was 24, which makes me 60! As they say, you are never too old…just a little late to start a new carrier!! :-[

Hi The Ax!

I don’t feel so bad now having read your post. I am over 60 and thinking of starting out. I live in New Zealand. You’ll see a few replies to other posts by me, mainly looking for info on where I should start. What would be the best model harp for a beginner do you think? I was leaning towards the Hohner Chromatic in C but there is much confusing info out there and I want to play the blues, but maybe I should wait a while for that.

Cheers

Well, I may be one of your older members. I just turned 74 and picked up the harmonica again just last year after about a 50 year respite from playing. I picked it up for two reasons, one is that it is one of the few instruments for which I seem to have some talent. The other, more important reason is that I have Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) and lifelong asthma which makes breathing very difficult.

“So why,” you ask, “Would an old fart who can’t breathe want to play a wind instrument?” the answer is in the question. It is an excellent breathing exercise and I am finding it very helpful already.