New to harp, really need your opinions for my next harp.

Hi fellows, i started playing the harp with an Hohner XB-40, G, a few years ago. Then to change key, i bought Lee Oscar, C, D, G and A, and three, or all of them, lost tune, at 4:th sucking.

I was fine with the XB-40 even thou it soared my lips a bit, then, i thought the smaller and lighter Lee Oscar harp, was faster and i liked that. Then, when the Lee Oscars lost tune, i picked up the XB-40 again, and i realize, the way i play (single tunes (pucking?)but as fast as i can, the XB-40 layout suits me much better.
Now, the XB-40 is not for sale anymore, i will order some spare parts reed plates C thou.

I can just handle a diatonic 10 hole right now, i really like the width (5") and weight, of the XB-40, because it altogether gave me precision, and was more predictable, even slower thou. My question is, what quality 10 hole, wide, diatonic harp, would you recommend for me, i will start with a C.

Svenne

Hey again Sweet62!
Don’t take this the wrong way. This isn’t criticism but observation.
The XB is built for EXTREMELY easy bending. In my opinion, it’s too
easy. Using other models, we tend to overcompensate for the increased
resistance to bending by drawing harder, more pressure on the reeds.
The XB may work well for you. Many experienced players find that
they bend so easy that they are difficult to NOT bend. I am straying
from my point here though. Find an instrument of good (not necessarily
the greatest) quality that allows the use of good technique, and work to
master that particular harmonica. Always use easy breath pressure until
you have mastered that model. Many models respond very differently.
Even different instruments of the same model often respond differently.
I have never blown out a reed on a harmonica, and I am certain this is
due to following my own advice on breath support.
I am a trained wind instrumentalist, and one thing I understand is breath