New to the Harmonica (again)

Hi there, a big hello from me in Sydney.
This is my return to the harmonica, after a couple of years break. About three years ago I purchased harmonica lessons from JP Allen and thoroughly enjoyed them, racing through in a couple of weeks. I got to being passable around a campfire, and having fun, then life kind of got in the way and I put down the harp for a couple of years.
The enjoyment never left me, even if the knowledge did, so I recently restarted the lessons on DVD from scratch, and feel like things are coming back to me. While I’m still a rank beginner, I feel like I’m on the right path with JP’s lessons, and laying the foundations down well. Somehow I feel that this time it’s for good, and I’m now a harp player from here on in, I think it’s gonna be a fun ride.
Looking forward to becoming part of the community and learning from everyone.
All the best,
Wayne (AKA Loosemoose)

Wayne,
Your story sounds about like mine. I bought the DVD lessons from JP several years ago, started to learn but gave up after a few months. I was working then and was also probably a little lazy in learning dedication. I am now retired and pulled out the DVD’s in January and this time I can play some songs and I feel I have got the basics down quite well. I practice about 5 days a week and am thoroughly enjoying the experience. Congrats to you on the same! I am having serious difficulty on bending hole 3, the others I am doing OK with. I couldn’t and can’t hit a lowest 3 hole draw bend quickly for anything. Very frustrating. 2 draw bend requires some effort. But, I practice some each day on it - try not to let that upset me too much and hope that someday my mouth, tongue, breath, etc figures out what I need to do! Carry on with your harpin’

I own several Hohner’s including my favorite the 64 chromonica.

Very much self taught and an absolute horrible player.