Newbie to the harmonica

Hi All,
Decided to pick up a harmonica I purchased( 15 years ago and never used it) 6 weeks ago and give it a try.I purchased a copy of Harmonica for Dummies ,I have found as a total novice the content of the book a bit heavy for me,apart from a few simple tabbed songs which I am now able to play.
Would any of you knowledgeable guys recomend any better books for a novice like me.
The harmonica I have at the moment is a cheapo GLH by Hohner (key of C)
I have on order a Hohner Rocket (key of C).
Any help you could give me would really be appreciated.
Thanks
Steve

Hi Steve, I’m in the same position as you. Just starting out and purchased the Harmonica for dummies book. It does seem hard going. I’m thinking of stumping up for the JP course but am waiting to see what other people say about it before taking the plunge and spending that kind of money. Andy.

Howdy folks!
I hope you’re still around. Here’s some advice:
If you find yourself too dumb for the dummies book…Hey I’m just joking.
Many people find beginning harmonica to be difficult.
I’ve never looked at the Dummies book, so I’m a little dumb there.
Not every method is good for everyone.
JP has quite a few free lessons and hints here on the site that will help to get you started
with the basics. JP’s lessons are great, and they teach beneficial habit forming (and lead
away from the bad ones already formed). I know it’s an investment, but I feel it’s the best
all 'round method. There are lessons on youtube by many noted pros, but most get pretty
deep very quickly. I like slow steady progress. That’s how I taught award winning sections
back in my day…attention to the details others miss.
Faithfully practice the free lessons JP offers, and then make up your mind. He really does
make it simple.
I’m not affiliated with JP other than as a harmonica player/learner. You decide. I’m just
telling you I have used the method, and I recommend it.
Now for harps: