out of curiously

Morning

I’ve taken upon myself to create the first post in this category, it’s unhealthy but someone got to do it ;D

I’m sure some of you play with amp’s and stuff, so…

On the net you often see or read about special harp-amp’s / microphones. But what’s so special about those?
Can’t “ordinary” equipment be used? I have no knowledge about this so pleas explain.

pica

I use a Fireball V mic thru my keyboard amp, a Behringer K900FX. It gives a clean sound, but if I wanted I could add a guitar pedal to get distortion. I have spent so much on equipment this year, I can’t justify any more equipment until my harmonica playing gets much better.

A lot of Blues players like to use a tube amp(guitar) and crank up the gain for distortion and more bassy sound and usually they use one of the bullet mics.

If you are looking at amplifying, take your time, and TRY different amps and mics. That way you can find the right combination. Unfortunately, that may not be easy to do. It may be hard to find the type of mic or amp you want in your area and you may have to purchase something from a company like Musicians Friend. Fortunately, they have a 45 day return policy.

Good luck and keep on harpin’

Flip

A good starter choice is the Roland Micro Cube. It has a lot of effects and pre-settings.

And you can get it in just about any music store in Sweden. About 1000 SEK I believe.

Thanks

I’m sorry if you misunderstood me, but I’ll try to learn to play properly before starting to go foe amp’s and such. I just wanted to know the difference between the gears made for harp players and other stuff. About the amp’s it was;

But what’s so special about the mics?

It’s a vast subject, you can find very much informartion at this site:

http://www.jt30.com/