Question about odd sound

I’m a beginner hoping for a little advice. I just got a new Hohner MB Crossover (G) and found a strange sound on the 2-hole draw. I can play the note, but it’s intermittently accompanied by a fluttering, flappy sound. I don’t know if it’s me, or the harp.
I made a short recording:
http://www.chriszaleski.com/temp/Crossover_G_2draw.wav
It feels like there’s something else moving besides the appropriate reed. In the recording that’s one smooth draw. Note - I intentionally tried to get the odd sound, not for the note to sound good :wink:

Anyone know what that is? Any advice is appreciated.

Hmm…might be the reed is loose…

Its only that single note? All the rest are fine?

Have you taken it apart to look at it?

–BT

Could you be drawing too hard and the reed hitting the cover. Can you play it in such a way that it doesn’t make that sound?

I’m not a lot of help because I don’t own that expensive of a harp yet.

Howdy CZ!

Could’ve stood to hear just a little more…

Yet going with BT and G-Mans suggestions, you’ll have to remove the covers and do some tests of elimination.

1. Remove the Top Blow Side cover first. Play 2 Draw. Does it still make the sound?

2. Put Top cover back on; remove Bottom Draw side cover. Play 2 Draw and listen for the sound.

3. Remove both covers; play again and listen for the sound.

You may find the sound on 1, but probably not 2 & 3.

With both covers off, plink the 2 Draw Reed with a toothpick or something similar to see if it is loose or cracked. A sharp vibrating sound will be right; a dull plunk thud sound will not be.

If all is okay, check the gap ratio on the 2 Draw Reed, and also the 1 Reed.

You may have to close them down slightly. (Search through our members’ maintenance topics on how to do this.)

Put both covers on, reassemble and play the harp again. Does this make a difference?

If so, problem solved.

If not, the Draw 2 (and even Draw 1) reed can be hitting the cover.