So new, so many questions to ask

Hi everyone,

Learning harp is tricky business. I don’t know how to gauge my progress because the pros make it look so natural. I started learning to play harmonica last month. I’m on a Lee Osker in C. I play the thing like crazy, but the sounds I can make are limited. The heart and soul of the harmonica is in the techniques. I’m looking for some help in that category, especially bends. I’ve been trying to bend the notes on the draw for a while now, but I can’t get the airflow to do it. Also I’m not sure if it’s the reeds or me, but my draws are a lot weaker sounding than my blows. Over and over again I basically hyperventilate trying to bend. If it didn’t give me a headache, it would probably be funny.

I also have a question about position. I hold the harmonica just inside my mouth with my lips resting above and below the holes. My action is decent, but I’m by no means lightning. The reason I bring this up is my lips get rubbed nearly raw. I have to lick my lips all the time, drink water, or lick the harmonica to keep it slick enough to move. It seems like there’s something I need to correct about my position? Tips?

Lastly, I was inspired to play by Sonnyboy Williamson II. That video of 9 below zero was simple, but had a good vibe to it. My last question is he does this thing with his hand over the harp that he’s using almost like a trumpet player muffling his sound, and I have no idea how he’s doing it so well. I can’t recreate it. I can do vibrato so-so, but he’s doing something different. O_O

Craziest instrument ever…Thanks ahead of time.

I would strongly suggest you purchase JP’s video harmonica lessons. He has a very clear, slow and well structured method of teaching the very skills you are having trouble with. It is money well spent. It goes without saying that much of your progress is up to how much you practice. It takes time and patience and when you start getting too frustrated stop for awhile and go back to it later.