Speed v Accuracy

Hi Guys.
I was wondering what your thoughts are regarding speed v accuracy. I have been working on a few bits on the Harmonica for Dummies book, one of the pieces involves playing a triplet note. To start with I had trouble getting the notes right, then they started to go OK but I just can’t get the triplet note down, just can’t blow quick enough. Now is there some trick to be used here or is it a matter of practice, practice practice and concentrate on getting the notes right and the speed will follow?

I also find it hard trying to do blow, draw in various combinations. Now I am only a real beginner and think that breathing to live involves inhaling and exhaling in that order. Playing harmonica does not folllow this law, so is it, once again patience and practice, and this will come as well.

What do you think,

Cheers,

Geoff.

Howdy Geoff!

For all beginners and many intermediate players, methinks they put too much pressure on themselves by not taking enough time to develop their skills and techniques before they’re jumping on to something else.

Yeah, I admit, I’ve been somewhat guilty of that too.

Nevertheless, when it comes to speed & accuracy et al, it takes time, and only time working on them to get to where you want to go.

Being said, here’s some suggestions and tips to help one along the way. In no particular order, to wit:

1. It takes years to develop the chops to play Bluegrass like Mike Stevens or Irish jigs etc like Brendan Power - So what’s the rush?!

2. Play chords and chugging using a metronome, such as the one here:

http://www.nch.com.au/metronome/index.html

Start at a comfortable pace you can handle, even if it’s lower than 60 bpms. NP.

Then increase the timings and rhythms gradually…60, 90, 110, 130+ bpms whatever.
Great teachers like Jon Gindick and even JP Allen says it takes time to develop these skills - So again, what’s the rush?