starting from the beggining

Greetings fellow harp players! :slight_smile:

What are the basic techniques every beginner should know and master before moving on. I’ve spent so much time on bending, vibrato and theory and a result I don’t know any of the basics other than DRE, single notes and hand technique.

Before moving on to what, where?

Meaning, if you have the basic techniques and foundations down – e.g. the single notes; the bending; the vibratos and some theory – then consider yourself having moved beyond a newbie, complete beginner. You’re an Intermediate or better yet Journeyman and/or Journey-woman…Congrats!!

As I’ve said many times before I’ll say again: You gotta have a plan, man (and woman)!

Where do you want to go…What do you want to do with your own harp playing?

And how and when do you see yourself getting to these goals?

And once accomplished, what’s next after that?

I don’t practice. But I pick up a harmonica laying around the house and just play.

I learn something new; add something new; try something different all the time…

It adds to my overall strengthening of what I know, can do and expand upon…All the while having fun with it!

Do I have other goals to accomplish? Sure…

One is working with another musician or musicians; another is figuring out how to make some sort of living at this if I can and am able. Both though, all in good time!

Bottom line is: Find your style; find your voice; and enjoy expressing it/them whenever and wherever you can, and the rest will fall in place as you go along!

Hope this helps!

Smiles!

Keep On Harpin’!

Bending is already a good step towards the advanced tier of harmonica playing. I just begun learning/improving my techniques in bending so first you’ve done very well for reaching that stage :slight_smile:

As for me I am still finding my grounds on the many styles about that I could play with. Still staying on the comfortable “C harmonica” zone but doing a bit of research here and there.