Tongue Blocking or Puckering?

When I first started playing the harmonica, I used the tongue blocking method to play single notes. As I’m starting to learn faster songs, I have to control the airflow with my tongue, so I am using the pucker method right now. I was just wondering what you guys use for single notes, and if it is normal to use your tongue to play faster songs. Thanks!

Nebby,
I employ both tongue block and pucker with equal aplomb. If I had to guess I’d say I use tongue block 60%.
SP

Thanks for the reply. I guess in time and with practice, I will stop getting that double note effect.

both

I try to grab the harmonica the way JP Allen shows and in the same time pucker. It seems to work very well.

Eventually it will be necessary to learn both. I started playing curling my tongue into a U shape. That was great for getting those single notes quickly but I found it impossible to bend. I have read tongue blockers say the same about bending, it’s hard to bend when your tongue is busy doing something else. I switched to using lip pursing/ DRE, this freed me up considerably to do more with my harp. Now that I am into the intermediate stage and tongue slaps, chords, and other forms of articulation are coming to light I am finding I have to learn tongue blocking as well.
IMO, my advice to a raw beginner would be to start with lip pursing and expect to pick up tongue blocking down the line when it becomes necessary. Stay away from the U shape tongue block cause it is a dead end. Great for playing good sounding single notes quickly but is hard/impossible to manipulate and a very hard habit to break away from.