Why Do You Play Harmonica?

I myself mostly play these days to make others happy. Curious if I’ll regain the passion to simply play for myself the way I did for most of my adult life…

Still love harmonica…Just seems that these days the thing I love most is teaching others and seeing the sparkle of joy in people’s eyes when I play.

It’s not as much the showing off thing that I love lately…it’s more about making another person’s life more wonderful…even if just for a moment…

jp allen

Hi JP,

You’re a great teacher and a wonderful player. I’m happy that you love teaching others your art! I’m not very good at teaching, and I enjoy playing harmonica most when I’m all alone. So, I guess I just play for myself. :slight_smile:

I can’t think of any reasons as to why I play. I just play for the fun of it. It helps me shut down my brain for a few moments which feels very good. We’re always thinking about something, and it’s great to shut down the brain and forget everything for a few moments. The harmonica helps me do this. :slight_smile:

Ashish

Howdy All!

Well, when I was a youngster, my dad played harmonica with a guitar and even the accordian - He was cool! But he passed on early, and never got around to showing me anything on it except the memories of his old folk tunes.

As the years passed, I picked it up here and there during my travels. But again, couldn’t get past the Old Susannah and Campton Races standbys.

Last Labor Day Weekend (2009), a few months after my mother passed on, my tractor-trailer rolled over on a mountainside. God didn’t take my life, nor did He take my arm that was trapped underneath the wreckage.

After suffering two back-to-back tragedies and making it through no worse for the wear, well, during my rehabilitation, I decided to finally go for things I always wanted to do. One of them was master this thing called the harmonica.

Through my searches on the internet, one of the first things I came across was JP Allen’s videos on youtube.