3-draw on G harp

On my C harp 3-draw is much easier than 2-draw. I just bought a Special 20 in G and now I’m finding it’s just the opposite, 3-draw is harder. Is this normal or do I have a bad reed?

1 Like

Hello @dowap,
I’ve been playing and learning with a 3-month break since September 2021.
Based on your question, I just tested my available harmonicas on slide - 2 and - 3.
I don’t notice any difference with my Hohner Blues Harp C and G, everything is easy.
On my Golden Melody, I confirm what you write. However, only if I test briefly and don’t make much effort.
I don’t notice any difference within a song either.
But I can remember well that at the beginning of learning exactly these - 2 and - 3 were the most difficult to play without bending. With the right technique and patience, this is no longer a problem.
You just need a different amount of train between the models.
Greetings from Astrid :woman_in_lotus_position:

2 Likes

Thanks Astrid @AstridHandbikebee63.
Using the “Bend it Better” tool on the website I am able to hit the right note (F#/Gb) briefly if I use just the right amount of effort on the draw. I guess I just need a lot more practice and patience. I also have an A Special 20 and I’m not sure I made the right decision in getting two extra keys so early in my training. Maybe I should’ve just stuck with my C harp until I could start bending properly.

2 Likes

@dowap,
Exactly patience and not too much saliva. :grin:
No, you didn’t get different harps too early, I think based on my own experience.
I too have the Special 20 in A.
As already mentioned, Blues Harp and Golden Melody in C and G and a set of the Fender Blues.