Breathing

I'm a beginner. I'm doing OK with having enough breath to play the notes. The problem I have is while play a song (currently I'm learning Danny Boy) I realize I haven't taking a breath and I'm running out of oxygen. In other words the song I'm playing doesn't allow me to either empty my lungs nor fill them up.  So essentially I'm playing both verses with only one lung full of air and can't do it. What am I missing?
2 Likes

The name of the song sounds familiar but I can’t remember the melody.

Seems to me that on most songs there are a series of blows and draws to make the melody. Take advantage on the draws to bring in your breath and the blows to let it out.

I find that if I don’t get all the way out of breath that it makes it easier to recover with slow, easy draws and blows.

That being said, the same thing happens to me on certain songs.

@Luke mentioned “gassing” in a recent post on LONG TONES, surely he and others can shed some light on breathing techniques… :wink:

1 Like

Hello @ingog ,
ich habe mir fĂĽr dich gerade einmal den Song mit den passenden Tabs fĂĽr eine C Harp angeschaut und nachgespielt.
Es ist neu fĂĽr mich, aber ich finde es von der Atmung nicht schwierig?
Ich gase schnell zwischen dem Wechsel eines - auf + bzw. + auf - Ton ein oder aus. Das funktioniert recht gut. Am Ende merkt man, dass es etwas anstrengend ist, aber das ist auch bei anderen Songs der Fall.
Vor dem Song atme ich tief ein und aus zum Entspannen, genauso im Schulterbereich. Das ist viel wert.
Ich wĂĽnsche dir weiterhin viel Erfolg und gib bitte nicht auf.
Viele GrĂĽĂźe von Astrid

Ich finde den Song übrigens auch sehr schön und es lohnt sich, ihn auf der Harp zu lernen. Ein weltbekannter Song, danke für den Hinweis! :slight_smile:

I guess maybe of you have translators because I see responses to the German language. I don’t

1 Like

Hello @ingog,
I just looked at the song for you with the matching tabs for a C harp and played it back.