Buy or repair?

I bought a Blues Harp ms about 25 years ago. I’m just starting to learn to play it. Although never really played, a few of the higher notes are unresponsive. Is it smarter to fix it, which will cost about $25, or just get a new Lee Oscar or Special 20?

1 Like

Hey Jake - welcome to the forum. I’d first try to run it under the faucet and then gently tap it against your palm, rinse and repeat a few times, tap it both sides for awhile, and then trying blowing on the holes back and forth as fast as possible and see if they come loose. For me personally, if it’s 25 years old, and it’s $25 to fix, I’d spend the extra $20 to get a brand new Lee Oskar or Special 20 which is gonna be more comfy and highly likely to be easier to bend if you start working on bends. That’s my 2 cents.

Unless you LOVE that harmonica and it’s got some kind of MOJO for you, I’d move on. Again, that’s just how I roll.

I’d be interested to hear @Slim 's opinion on this.

Rock on,
Luke

1 Like

Thanks for the advise, Luke. I washed it out, and yup, it’s more responsive. I have no special feeling for the harp, and still might opt to try either a 20 or an Oscar. I have to figure out if I’m just looking for the magic that doesn’t exist, or will an improvement really show.

1 Like

Hi @Jake07712,

Sorry to reply so late (I was out hiking for the last 6 days and had no internet during that time).

In my opinion, you should look at moving on to a newer harp since they almost all have improved in quality in the last 25 years – what I mean here is the quality of the reeds and manufacturing tolerances.

I don’t know for sure if this is true, but my opinion is that (especially for brass reeds) unless they are played fairly regularly they eventually become brittle/stiff (perhaps from some chemical process such as oxidation) – and I mean not being played for like 5-10 years. If true, then new reeds or a new harp would definitely be worth the expense. :point_left: