Can’t not bend

Hi, I have a problem that I haven’t heard anyone else talk about. I’m a beginner, and I have a C harp and a G harp. On both of these, some of the draw notes are very hard to play in tune. The first three draws keep trying to drop down a half step. I don’t think they are out of tune, because if i try really hard they can play correctly. Also, when this problem occurs, a very high pitched but quiet screech sound comes from the reed.

Does anyone know what I am doing wrong?

2 Likes

First, before we diagnose the problem. Let’s see what kind of harmonica you have. Because usually harps under $20USD are prone to do that.
If it’s a professional grade or decent quality, try to keep a relaxed embouchre and breathe from your diaphragm. My teacher actually gives a good tutorial on Bending in case you want to hear his take on it. Redirecting...

2 Likes

Both or my harmonicas are Lee Oskar, which I bought new for around 40 USD.
I will try being more relaxed to see if I can get more in tune.

Thanks for the advice, I guess I’ll just have to keep practicing

2 Likes

Most beginners also play much too strongly on both draw and blow notes. This is pretty much a perfect way to get poor sounding notes even on expensive harps. :point_left:

– Slim :sunglasses:

4 Likes

I used to have notes that I played out of tune most of the time (3 and 2 draw whole step bend especially), either bending too hard or not enough. The best way to fix this quickly in my opinion is to practice a scale including the note that’s causing you trouble using the “bend it better tool” to make sure that you’re hitting it right. You’ll have to be very mindful about it at first but as you practice the scale it will get easier.

In general, you have to learn to be mindful when you play (you need to be able to hear when you’re bending too hard) and slowly these problems will dissapear by themselves (at least that’s how it happened for me).

Good luck ! Hope my advice will be useful !

5 Likes