Chords or single notes

Hi its me again. I am a newbie. I have seen 100s tabs and they all show single notes, ie the melody. However when I hear some players they play chords or at least multiple notes like Dylan. How do i turn a single note tab to a chord tab or am I not understanding it right.

4 Likes

Hi again,
Its pretty much just playing the single note from the tab and the notes next to it either side. Just play around with not isolating the single note.

6 Likes

Well thanks again toogdog. It now seems blindly obvious but unfortunately I had not grasped this as a newbie.

4 Likes

Hi Steve, I’m pretty new at this also. Yes, Dylan plays messy and Neil Young too, I think. Are you sure that the listed tabs are not displaying double notes, usually they do when it’s part of the original tune. for example, 34 is 3 and 4 blow together, 3 4 is 3 blow single note, then 4 blow single note. Apologies if that sounds patronising, I’m just checking.
I was able to play single notes straight away, after listening to Luke’s free video on the deep relaxed mouth position. I think I have a small mouth so maybe that’s why I found it easy. He often says, if you can’t play single notes yet, that’s OK you can play double notes with this one, but I have the opposite problem, my double notes never sound right to me. Maybe it’s that small mouth thing again. So, I tend to go the other way and often play single notes when doubles are described. It’s not that I don’t like the sound when other people play them, it just doesn’t sound right to me when I play them.
Not much help I suppose but sometimes it’s interesting to hear where other beginners are at.

4 Likes