Diatonic vs Chromatic

Chromatic vs Diatonic
I am not a very good harmonica player, but I thought I would express some of my experiences with both types of harps in case anyone is interested.

I started playing in about August of ’21. Within about 2 weeks I could play single notes using lip pucker with ease. By the time I could do that, I was able to play, by ear, somewhere in the neighborhood of 20 or 30 tunes, and that rapidly expanded. The only instruction I needed for most songs was the starting hole and whether it was a blow or a draw. (I have more than 60 years of music background.) By December I was trying to learn draw bends with limited success. By about February, I could hit most bends pretty well, but had a LOT of trouble bending without playing the draw note first, and had a LOT of trouble controlling the draws on hole 3.

I had a lot of dry mouth trouble, and my lips got sore easily, particularly when practicing draws. I also suffer from COPD, and had problems with my breathing. I was unable to practice for more that about 15 minutes before getting sore, and I frequently played until my mouth got very sore, thinking I would get better.

I contacted Greg Jones, 16:23 Harmonicas in June and he suggested I invest in a Seydel NO Slider. He told me that the ‘tightness’ would help both problems.

I had already purchased a Hohner Chromatic, because I wanted to play a lot of songs that I could not tab on a Diatonic, especially with my inability to master my draws many of my favorite songs, including Indian Love Call, Again, Don’t Blame Me, Moon River, Days of Wine and Roses, I’ll Walk Alone, Together, My Happiness, Autumn Leaves, Always In My Heart, All The Things You Are, and others. I had a lot of trouble co-coordinating pushing the button.

I took a ‘vacation’ for a while to let my lips ‘heal’, which was basically a mistake.