Harmonica question

I recently bought a Hohner Crossover in C. It is my first real harp. It sounds amazing from holes 3-10. I feel like the sounds in holes 1 &2 are not nearly the quality. I contacted Hohner and they said that’s typical from a novice. As I have no experience and don’t know anyone who plays I’m trying to figure out if what I’m experiencing is normal or if it’s that harp. My problem is with producing good/and sound from holes 1/2. I tongue block for single hole play, for more info. Thank you!

4 Likes

It might just be a case of fine tuning the technique on the bottom holes to get the note to sound as it should. I’m only a few weeks into playing myself.
On my harmonica 1 draw and 5 draw sound super easy but I struggled with the others, I assumed it was something wrong, took the cover plates off and poked around a bit but nothing looked obviously (to a complete newbie) wrong or different.

A few weeks later and im still not convinced the harp is as good as it could be but I am getting those other draw notes to sound a lot better.

If there is anything wrong that a slightly different technique doesn’t fix it’s most likely just needing a set up tweek - there’s quite a few videos on gapping reeds on YouTube but it’s probably a case of playing with it a lot more before concluding it’s not quite right.

2 Likes

I’m a beginner and struggle with 1 and 2 blow and draw and 8-9-10 about the same. I’m convinced it’s a beginner issue as I am and not the harp. I just got a new Special 20 and I’m having the same issue. The long and short reeds are tricky to engage apparently. It is frustrating I’ll admit but we’ll all figure it out with practice I’m sure!

3 Likes

Hello @Piglet, hello @AllenJP,

when I think back to my beginnings, it was the same for me! The song played great, only the 1-3 draws were unreliable.
The more I tried it, the worse it got! Why? Because I was getting more and more frustrated inside! That means my required relaxation was missing!