Harp Cleaning Advice

Dear All, I hope this is not a duplicate thread however I am looking for advice of the correct way to deep clean the inside of my harp. I keep it in the case when not using it and and often drink water when practicing so I am trying to take good acre of it. I have just shone a light over the holes to check its condition and wish I hadn’t ! I think it may be an accumulation of moisture and dust, which obviously isn’t great to look at and the thought of drawing on it isn’t good for a clean-freak like myself!
Rather than poking things in the holes to clean it and to avoid damaging the reeds, can anybody recommend a safe way of cleaning the harp, for the harp’s sake and the user? For the record it is s Hohner Special 20 (plastic comb). Many thanks in advance.

As a foot note - Luke, your Beginner to Boss course is awesome - I’m well into Module 2 learning cool solos. As a newbie I am buzzing - thank you !

2 Likes

You need to read this post.

– Slim

2 Likes

Many thanks, Slim - another toy to purchase!

2 Likes

Hello @harveybabes,
I also use an ultrasonic cleaner and it really works.
Greetings from Astrid :woman_in_lotus_position:

2 Likes

Hey - I’m not the right guy to answer this as I’m not a clean freak. Probably need to be more of one!

But just wanted to say thank you so much for your kind words, and I’m glad that you’re digging the course!

3 Likes

I’ve been buying second hand harmonicas, so I was concerned about cleaning.
I’d like to know if there’s anything wrong with what I’ve been doing.

Firstly, I use tissues, and wipe the whole thing down with mouthwash, I use one that contains alcohol. I rub and scrub along all of the joins and lines with my thumbnail padded by the tissue, damp with mouthwash.

When I’m happy that nothing else can possibly come off, I’ll dip cotton tips into mouthwash, and…