Harp Tab Working Man - Newbie

Hi there I am a newbie and have Hohner harmonicas in the keys of C, D and G. I have been searching for a tab for the song Working Man in C written by the late Rita Maclean, Does anyone knew where such a tab exists or how I can construct one?
Any help would be appreciated. Thank you

Steve

1 Like

https://www.harptabs.com/searchsong.php?Name=Working+man&Author=&Username=&Difficulty=0&Range=0&HarpType=0

5 Likes

Thank you Toogdog. I did find this one but thought it too high. Following your message I have transposed the tab to play in the middle notes but have a double bend for the A on hole 3 draw. Well thats one way of making me practise bends. Is this another position on the harp? Cheers.

2 Likes

Hey @SteveMika welcome to the forum my friend. The notes on the tabs @toogdog sent you are too high even on your G harmonica? That should be an acceptable range?

Everybody struggles with high notes, ESPECIALLY at the beginning.:ok_hand:t3: -7, -8 are the most frequent ones that REALLY trip people up, but anything above 6 can prove problematic!

These are the tips for a getting good clean high notes.

1.) Let gravity lower your jaw so that it’s totally relaxed and in a nice “aw” vowel shape, your teeth should be far apart from each other

2.) Keep the back of your tongue down, like it is when you yawn. Make sure it’s not in the “Kk” zone (how your tongue is when you say a “Kk” consonant.)

3.) Nice steady, GENTLE, airflow. Most beginners (and many intermediate and advanced players) use WAY to much pressure.

Hope that helps! :sunglasses:

Aloha,
Luke

3 Likes

Thanks very much Luke for your advice. I have had some success with using my 12 hole Chromatic harmonica rather than a C Diatonic. I will continue with the Chromatic for this song although its like holding a railway sleeper in your mouth compared to the 10 hole diatonic.

@Luke