Hohner Rocket Disassembly - What Screwdriver/s?

Hello,

Beginner here. I’ve taken a stab at taking apart a Hohner in the past but, while i was able to disassemble it, i stripped the screw heads by using what i thought was a standard phillips head…

I’ve since then been reading about it and understand that the plate covers may be phillips head but the reed plates are pozidriv. However, i do read some conflicting information about it as some people say pozi #0 (50mm) and some say pozi #1 (60mm). While both may work, I would like to confirm once and for all what is the actual most ideal size for this. If I am already buying one screwdriver, which I will not use for any other purpose, might as well get the most ideal one.

Also, for the plate cover screws, what is the ideal # philips I should so everything is done in a textbook manner. I was able to botch even the cover plate philips heads by using what was probably too small and pointy of a phillips screwdriver…

Thanks for your help!

3 Likes

Hello there @Amiroquai

I can’t tell you the exact number, you need, but I’ve had luck with a small multi-tool kit which has several sizes. It just seems to be a matter of finding the one that doesn’t wiggle around too much and fits tightest in the screw hole. Like many things in life, a tight fit seems to work best (lol).

My Hohner Special 20 seems to work best with this bit which says 3.5 on the barrel, but it’s a flat head screw, so that’s not much help:

I had a similar but different problem when I stripped the holes on my Easttop harp. Since I was unable to find any sleeve screws, I ended up getting some twine and wrapped it tightly around each end. This actually works out pretty well to keep the screws tight. I also think it looks pretty cool, but that’s up for dispute. Here’s a picture of the Blue Blazer along with some of her friends.