I started harmonica lessons 3 years into playing…and I love them

I started out on the harmonica self-taught for the first 3 years of my harp blowing career. This was because there was no information on how to play like my harmonica hero, Terry McMillan. All of the country harmonica resources would lead back to a player I don’t like, Charlie McCoy. I know that if I would mention that I didn’t like him, the Facebook harmonica community would be extremely offended by my words. They would tell me that I needed to play like him to be successful in country music and that I would be unhireable as a musician if I played like Terry. They viewed Terry as being an obscure harmonica player that didn’t have a lot of session work despite being popular in the 80s and 90s. My playing and love for Terry’s playing were constantly the butt of jokes in the harp community and I felt like I was all alone in the way that I feel. So I felt like I needed to take harmonica lessons to prove them all wrong.
I eventually settled on a country/gospel player named Todd Parrott to be my teacher. And let me tell ya that when I started that first lesson, it was like talking to a childhood friend. I was very nervous to ask him to help me because I’m autistic and some Christians claim that prayer can “cure” an uncurable disability like Autism. So I’d told him before hand about my disability and how it would affect my learning, he was okay with that. Now knowing that I’ve developed a good friendship with him and been progressing a lot faster as a player, I wish I started lessons sooner.

6 Likes

Hi @KeroroRinChou

Todd Parrott plays harmonica with the best of them, and I am glad to hear that you have him as your teacher. I really wish that I could play as well as he does!! He is a true model for harpists.