Inexpensive Hohners have reeds that don't play. How to fix?

How do I make all the reeds play in my cheap Hohners?
I mistakenly bought a set of 5 Roadhouse Blues Hohners in the keys of C, D E G and A. They are black plastic, brass reeds, Made in China. Every one has at least 3 holes that don’t play in one direction or another.
Silly me. I figured each one should play all 10 notes in both blow and draw. Nope. Every single one has a problem someplace. One only has 2 holes where draw works.

I’m an engineer and decided I would spend a little time trying to fix them. I tried all the things in this article: . [8 Things to do when a note won’t play.](8 Things To Do When a Note Won’t Play – Tips From Easiest to Hardest

I already tried putting the Hohners in the dishwasher, blowing compressed air through the holes., tapping them on the table.
I put the two worst ones in a video cassette box strapped to my car air cleaner thinking that the vibrations would make things free up and break in. Over a period of 4 days I drove about 200 miles. No effect. They are still junk.

This morning, I took one apart and blasted it with my Braun Waterpik on full pressure.
Still junk.
Am I’m expecting too much? Should I just give up and let my 3 year old grandson use them as obstacles for his Matchbox cars?

Meanwhile my Seydel Blues Session, Made in Germany, sounds fantastic!

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks, Jeff

4 Likes

Unfortunately, in this case it looks like you get what you pay for. :rage:

I think that your grandson will have more fun with them than you. I doubt that even a good job of gapping and reed shaping would improve them enough to be worth the effort. :exploding_head:

Write it off as a learning experience and buy some more quality harps, like your Seydel, a Lee Oskar or some Special 20s from Hohner. :point_left:

Regards,
– Slim

3 Likes

Well… I… just… can’t… let… it… go. I’m a semi-intelligent engineer. I can fix anything.