Introducing myself to the harmonica world

I am considering the purchase of a harmonica. I have no prior experience. I am looking at the Lee Oskar major in C and the Harmo Polar in C. Any advice/ ideas would be helpful. I am sure I have a lot to learn from you.
Thanks,
NEWPLAYER

6 Likes

Hi Newplayer.

I have been playing a harmonica just a very short time however makes I have heard are good are Hohner marine band, fender blues, hohner special 20 and Lee Oskar.
I’m sure there are many others too.
Checkout reviews on YouTube I found them a great way to decide and to hear the sounds for when I’m playing the way the reviews do.
Welcome by the way. :+1::+1:

2 Likes

There are many great brands and models of harmonica out there
all of which are perfectly fine. My preference is the Hohner special 20.
It is a quality instrument and has been around for a long time.

2 Likes

Hi @NEWPLAYER

Welcome to the forum.

As already mentioned by Steve @stevenlois1, The Hohner Special 20 is an excellent blues harp – not just as a first harp, but one that many advanced and professional players also use. Another good choice would be the Hohner Golden Melody.

I am not acquainted with the Harmo models and I do not know if they purchase the parts from a well-known Chinese source, so I really cannot comment on them.

Regards,
– Slim :sunglasses:

2 Likes

Hey @NEWPLAYER - the Lee Oskar harmonicas are highly rated and sound good from what I’ve heard, though whichever harmonica you get, I’d highly recommend learning the harmonica - it’s oodles of fun and this great community will happily support you on your musical adventures.

2 Likes