Introduction - Beginner

I am a rank beginner on the harmonica. I’ve bought a Hohner Marine Band in C and an Am Hohner PentaHarp. I do have a background in music and play the trumpet, flugle and baritone.
My goal is to play the Blues - good old down and dirty honkytonk bendy blues and sad mournful cry in your beer blues. Yeah. well, the Blues.
There is a long road for me ahead but then I have lots of time to travel that road. I am retired.
I am looking forward to interacting with all you good people.

8 Likes

Welcome! I’m new here myself, both to the forum and harmonica, but welcome! :slightly_smiling_face:

5 Likes

Hello @Dupuis,
Welcome to the forum.
As for playing the harp, I’m in the middle group in kindergarten. :smiley:
You have a good background as you already play other instruments, which will definitely help you.
Have fun enjoying your pension and learning the harp, a good combination.
Best regards from Astrid :woman_in_lotus_position:

4 Likes

Thank you Astrid

4 Likes

Thank you Dave

5 Likes

What it is welcome

4 Likes

Right on man. You got this. So glad that you chose harmonica and very happy to have you here in the forum. Rock on. :metal:t3:

3 Likes

Hi!!

I’m also new to the harmonica. I’m in a band with three other people (2 guitarists - both moving back and forth from guitar to bass when necessary) and one drummer. I sing, play the alto and tenor sax, guitar, flute and bass guitar and have recently been asked to pick up the harp as well as we have many songs which have really cool harp in them. I agreed and have now picked up “C” and “G” 10-hole diatonic harps to start with. So far, they’re fun!!!

I researched some sites for online learning and really liked what I saw here.

Looking forward to learning with everybody!! :slight_smile:

5 Likes

Welcome! There’s certainly some good resources here, and on the YouTube channel.