Is Key D okay

Im just starting out on the course but I had my Harmonica bought for me as a gift. It is in the key of D but everywhere says I should start with a C Harp.
Is it going to be alright learning with a D or should I get a new one in the key of C.

5 Likes

Hi @pharris

To a certain extent this depends on your musical ability/experience. Since almost all harmonica classes for beginners use, and assume that you also use, a C diatonic harmonica, it is easiest to go with a C harmonica. You can use the D harmonica but everything will be sounding ā€œout of tuneā€ because what you play will be (for example) in the key of D while the class video will be in the key of C. This does make it difficult for a true music beginner, but experienced musicians know how to play in this manner and can progress in a fairly normal manner.

So to be honest and to make things easier, I strongly suggest buying a C diatonic harmonica. Good ones that do not cost too much are (just to name a few): Hohner Special 20, the Hohner Marine Band (the one with Deluxe in its name is more expensive than the one without Deluxe in its name ā€“ but the price difference is justified for the Deluxe), Hohner Golden Melody, the Seydel Blues Session Standard, the Seydel Blues Session Steel (more expensive but the stainless steel reeds are more durable), Lee Oskar, the Suzuki Bluesmaster, the East Top 008K.

There are others, but the listed ones can often be found online or in music stores. With a little shopping around you will probably find one in your price range (and perhaps even discounted).

Regards,
ā€“ Slim :sunglasses:

3 Likes

This reminds me of buying a Db harmonica by mistake. It was actually correctly labeled when I bought it as a C#ā€¦ I just didnā€™t pay attention to the # sign.

Short and long of it is that you can play virtually any song in any key, but as @Slim says, it will be a bit out of tune from the original or what others might play.