Is this an embouchure issue?

I’m a beginner, and I’ve noticed when I try to record anything I play that there’s a little unwanted noise. I’m playing a special 20. If you listen, it’s like a tiny soft click or poof of air at the beginning of some notes (not all), or almost as if my tongue is over articulating (It’s not that though because I’m not doing any articulation). Here’s a link to me playing something. If someone could listen and give suggestions of how to reduce the sound that I’m talking about, It would be appreciated. Maybe it’s worth noting that I am fairly close to the microphone when I record – like 6 inches away. Again, any help is appreciated.

3 Likes

Hello @Fortheo,
so far it sounds good! A little too much surround sound, which could be due to the nature of the microphone and software.
I had this too in the beginning until I invested in a better microphone and started using other programs through my Windows 11 laptop.
As for the distance, you can only test! I don’t have a fixed measure, it depends on what I’m playing.

I know that click. For me it’s the larynx, which of course has to work when playing the harp. It is heard more when playing the harp without accompaniment.
But it’s so subtle, it wouldn’t bother me.

Regards Astrid :woman_in_lotus_position:

2 Likes

Hi Scott @Fortheo

I agree with Astrid @AstridHandbikebee63 when she mentions the possibility that the clicking sound could be coming from the larynx – and I would add that the pharynx and nasopharynx areas contain various moist, relatively soft tissue surfaces that respond to slight changes in muscular activity such as those that occur when playing the harp; and they also get pushed around by changes in air pressure and flow direction when playing (as well as speaking or singing). These structures “slap” together or get pulled apart and can generate audible sounds such as those in your recording.