Lee Oskar 2 draw problem

Hi. I received my first Lee Oskar today, in Natural E minor.
I’m still a raw beginner, just working on isolating notes, and not getting it everytime without putting in some effort, but I’m worried about the 2 Draw. When I isolate it, apart from taking a lot of sucking, I get something like a faint, dying foghorn, or what sounds like approx 10khz feedback, or both.
This doesn’t happen with the 3 Marine bands, the Special 20, Pocket Pal, East top, or even the unbranded ‘Folk Masters’.
It seems to sound okay when drawing 123, but it’s hard to tell.
I don’t want to send it back if it’s just me, but what do you guys and girls think? I can’t see why I would have this problem on this harp, and on none of the others.
Worth opening up? Persevering as is? Or do I contact the seller immediately?
I bought it online, but from an actual physical music shop, not an online store.
I’m just a bit disappointed, and a bit breathless, so I’d like some advice and opinions. Thanks!

2 Likes

Hi @Dave_Dunn

Open it by removing the cover plates and then the screws attaching the reed plates to the comb.

Look at the draw plate (the one that was attached to the underside of the comb & had the reeds exposed when you initially removed the cover plates), reed #2 (the second longest reed) is the guilty one.

It sound like this reed is either rubbing against the side(s) of its slot or there could be dirt or a metal burr (either on the side(s) of the reed’s slot or the reed itself).

You can attempt to fix any of these, but my advice would be to contact the seller and request an exchange. You purchased a new harp that is defective (evidence: this does not happen on any other of your harps).

Regards,
– Slim :sunglasses:

5 Likes

Thanks Slim. I emailed them, with much the same information as I have given here, and added that I’d posted about the problem on this forum, to ask for advice. Then enquired about sending it back for repair or replacement.