Lip balm

Is this a good idea for sticky lips or should I avoid

I would assume that it might gunk up the holes on the harmonica, but then I am only new to the instrument, so maybe someone with more experience than myself can give you a more definitive answer.

My lips often become very chapped, particularly in the winter. I use lip balm as needed with no problems.

1 Like

Yeah, I don’t really see any problem with it. If you are using the deep relaxed mouth position, your lips should be deep on the cover plates, so it shouldn’t really have any way to get inside the holes and muck up the reeds.

I’d say, if it feels better to play with it, go right ahead!

2 Likes

@Luke And in case anything (say lip balm) makes its way into the holes, is it OK to use water to clean a hohner crossover every day? I saw one comment that it was OK to use tap water, but I am not sure how frequently is too much.

Hi @diego.and.aguirre,

Cleaning a Marine Band Crossover every day might be a bit extreme, but as long as you do not let the comb remain in the water for an extended time there should probably not be a problem. The Crossover has a triple lacquered bamboo comb. For harps with plastic or metal combs there is no problem with soaking them in water, but with wood or bamboo you need to be aware that the material can swell, become distorted in shape and even crack (despite the excellent work that Hohner does sealing these combs).

Therefore, to be on the safe side, if you find it necessary to clean the reeds so regularly (like every day) then you would be best advised to remove the reed plates (leaving the reeds attached, of course) and cleaning them (with warm water that has a few drops of dish washing soap in it, because that will assist removal of substances such as lip balm). Let the plates dry completely before screwing them back onto the comb.