Music = Math ("whooah, that's sooo trippy!")

I’m always fascinated by the patterns and numbers that emerge in nature, in math, and in music, so I thought I would start a thread here for geeks like me who want to be like, “whoah check it out…” and share our amazement at concepts about music that relate to math.

All righty then let’s get started:

You ever trip out on the number 12? There are 12 months in a year, 12 hours in a day or night, 12 tribes of Israel, 12 disciples of Jesus, 12 signs in the zodiac, 12 inches in a foot, 12 doughnuts in a dozen (mmmm, I’m hungry!)…and there are 12 half-steps in an octave!

Or how about the number 7? There are 7 days in a week, 7 oceans, 7 continents, 7 vertebrae in our neck, 7 colors in the rainbow… and 7 notes in our Major and Minor scales (and related modes.)

I mean you gotta admit it’s KINDA cool, right?

Ok, now I’m gonna get even MORE geeky and out there on you, lol. So, you may or may not know that I am a music producer (Like, I produced all the hundreds of jam tracks that come along with my Beginner to Boss course.)

So I was mixing a song recently and I was looking at a frequency chart of some of the lowest notes to help me make a good guess of what might be a good frequency to boost in the EQ of a kick drum, and I noticed something that made me laugh out loud.

OK, so to preface it, I feel like I’ve been at many gigs where I’ve heard crazy, colorful musicians talking about “what is the fundamental frequency of planet earth.” Because everything has it’s fundamental frequency, the vibration that an object “wants” to vibrate at most. I’ve heard some of these kooky friends of mine say “the frequency of Earth is E” or the “the frequency of Earth is Eb.”